OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED: GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County JILL LAVINE Sacramento County MARK LUNN Ventura County KAREN RHEA Kern County MICHAEL VU San Diego County **DAWN ABRAHAMSON*** Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: **REBECCA MARTINEZ** Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:** JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bav Area Monterey County LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES **CLERK OF THE BOARD:**

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627 E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

April 27, 2015

The Honorable Lorena Gonzalez, Author State Capitol, Room 6012 Sacramento, CA 95814

AB 1461 (Gonzalez) -SUPPORT

Dear Assembly Member Gonzalez:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for AB 1461, which would permit the state and counties to automatically register to vote applicants for a driver license or state IDs if they meet certain qualifications. This would create a truly portable voter registration process for California voters by not requiring the completion of an additional written affidavit. This bill will remove a critical barrier to participation in the electoral process.

While we are fully supportive of the bill in concept, we look forward to working with the sponsor on technical and implementation issues to ensure the desired outcomes of the bill are achieved.

We appreciate your efforts to streamline the voter registration process by making registration automatic and thereby increasing public participation in the electoral process.

We urge passage of AB 1461. Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at <u>scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us</u> or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek Corresponding Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

 Cc: Assembly Member Ridley-Thomas, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting
Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant
Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.
Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee
Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee